LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

New Owner, Extremely Stiff Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-17, 01:07 AM
sr5guy
Driver School Candidate

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Question New Owner, Extremely Stiff Suspension

Hello all, I am the proud owner of a 2010 LS460L AWD Black/Black I purchased on Thursday with some known air suspension issues.

Curious if you guys have experienced the issue I'm having with this vehicle and can offer a starting point, solution and/or repair advice. I am a former master auto technician and will be DIY repairing. Am I correct in assuming there are some bi-di controls (actuators, valves) and DTCs accesible on Techstream from the air suspension controller?

The vehicle rides extremely stiff, equivalent to a race car on coil overs set to full hard. There is little suspension travel and the car is following dips in the road and at times getting squirrel-ly. The car won't push down any measurable degree at any of the 4 corners with my body weight (I'm a big guy) at high and regular height - this doesn't seem normal.

The vehicle appears to raise and lower as expected with the height high button. At normal ride height I get 3 fingers of clearance at the front and 2 at the rear. At high, I get a little more than 4 at the front and 3 at the rear. Travel takes about 2-3 minutes.

I'm a bit perplexed at the combination of outward symptoms - I am unable to push the vehicle down with my weight but the vehicle raises and lowers normally. Should I be looking at valves in the compressor? Failed damper adjusters? Controller issues?

Thanks!
-Matt
Old 12-03-17, 05:07 AM
Lexuslsguy
Pole Position

Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts

Grab a copy of Techstream for sure. The ride hight settings are mainly used to manually lower the vehicle does affect comfort but not like you are describing.