LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

460, 430 or RX350 for road trip?

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-18, 11:45 AM
Thomasin
Rookie

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default 460, 430 or RX350 for road trip?

Hi guys,

I am not sure which category of the forum should this thread reside. My girlfriend and elder sister (along with her kid) will travel from the other side of this planet to visit me during Thanks giving. I think to have a 2-week road trip from Houston,TX to visit various places in California (so plenty of time, not too ambitious and more importantly no rush) via Phoenix and Vegas on the way.

I have no experience to drive 500 miles+, so any comments or inputs from every one of you count. Which car should I use? My own" 2002 LS430 or 2010 LS460 or borrow my younger sister 2013 RX350? Personally I favour my 02' 430 because this car is so flawless and serene. I don't know why there is always a feeling that it is just a matter of time having my 460 to break down on the highway since the alternator issue. Should I take consideration of the cargo room so to use my sister's RX? This is worth mentioning: I am the ONLY DRIVER for this 3000 miles+ RT drive so comfort is an important criterion to consider (My girlfriend has just obtained her driving license for a month and not from the States, so better not to let her drive I guess).

Any factors should I consider for such a long road trip? Or any advice is appreciated.

Thank you!!
The following users liked this post:
igrip (08-14-23)
Old 06-29-18, 12:42 PM
riknchar
Instructor

Received 228 Likes on 140 Posts