LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Front End Rattle - HELP

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-19, 12:14 PM
Daprano
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front End Rattle - HELP

I'm relatively new to this Lexus Forum, so let me start by saying thank you for all the helpful posts regarding replacing the front control arms for the 4th gen LS460s.. Its one of the best forums for Lexus owners that I've found.

I purchased my 2007 LS460L from a relative who lives in Las Vegas. I live in Cleveland, OH and the roads here take way more abuse due to the weather and are typically relatively bumpy.

Since I've purchased my car, I've had several mechanics (two different dealerships) and three independent shops tell me that the rattling in the front of the car was due to 1) the 4 upper control arms (dealer), 2) sway bar links (1st local mechanic) and finally 3) the front struts (3rd local mechanic).

Dealership quote to replace just the four upper control arms was close to $5,800, which is too expensive. (I assumed the cause of the rattle was diagnosed correctly).

I started by getting a 2nd opinion/quote and had the sway bar links replaced by one of the independent mechanics I mentioned above considering that "it needed to be done immediately" per the mechanic. Within 1 month the passenger side link failed. I took it back to the shop and they replaced link for free, however they told me the lower passenger control arm was bad and needed to be replaced. I had them replace lower arm and replace bad passenger link. approx. $750