LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Restoring faded and scratched wood trim panels in a 2007 Lexus LS460

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-21, 01:30 PM
pemulis
Driver School Candidate

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Restoring faded and scratched wood trim panels in a 2007 Lexus LS460

Writing this for posterity so that anyone attempting this can benefit from my mistakes. It's my first time attempting anything like this and the results are far from perfect but it's a big improvement.

What I used:
- Porter Cable 7424 dual-action polisher
- Meguiar's Ultimate Compound, Ultimate Polish, and Wax Paste
- 3000, 5000, 7000-grit sandpaper (as a test on a few rear trim pieces)

Thoughts:
- Almost every wood trim panel was horrifically scratched, almost looks like the previous owner used brillo pads instead of microfiber to clean the car.
- The first few images are the rear seat ashtray covers and panels, I wanted to test what results I could get from only wet-sanding and hand-compounding. These results were pretty abysmal.
- All other images were using a DA polisher for a few minutes on each trim panel.
- DA compounding then DA polishing yielded great results. I was using a medium cut 3" pad at speeds 5-6 for compounding, 3-4 for polishing (speeds range from 1-6).

My recommendations if you're considering doing this:
- This is not worth doing if you refuse to use a DA polisher (the much-loved Harbor Freight DA polisher is like $60 so get that if on a budget).
- If your scratches look like mine, wet-sanding is probably a waste of time. Just use a DA polisher with a compound.
- Removing trim panels is very easy (buy a plastic spudger tool for this and watch youtube videos), even if you've never done it before.
- I suspect using a more abrasive compound like Meguiar's M105 and a harder cutting pad would've yielded better results than what I got.