LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

aftermarket sub with reclining rear seats

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-22, 09:01 AM
lexydood3
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default aftermarket sub with reclining rear seats

hey everyone, so my sub has been on the verge of blowing for past month and i think its finally had its last day. i have a sub and amp from my last car but im not sure if its compatible. i tried reading other forums but i have zero knowledge on audio components and i was wondering if anyone had a direct answer. the reason i titled it “with reclining rear seats” is because i think the installers for my last car drilled the amp to the backseats through the trunk (not completely sure) but does anyone have an aftermarket box and amp in the trunk with reclining rear seats?
Old 12-08-22, 09:32 AM
swfla
Lead Lap

Received 1,272 Likes on 984 Posts

Here's my best suggestion. Contact United Radio for the cost of amp repair. There are other shops that do this as well. Then contact an independent car sound shop. They will be able to give you accurate info and pricing on adapting an aftermarket amp to the complicated wiring. If you have Mark Levinson system in your car, it may be best to just repair it. It's a high end system already. If you're thinking of adding a powered subwoofer, that would compliment the ML system nicely and is fairly straightforward install. I have reclining seats and what actually happens, the seat bottom moves forward pulling the seat back forward a few inches. I think an amp could be mounted to the seat back without interference. A sub speaker is too bulky and heavy to attach to seat back. There are several thread here about adding a powered sub to the LS.
Old 12-08-22, 09:53 AM
Gerf
Racer

Received 789 Likes on 587 Posts