LX - 3rd Gen (2008-2021) Posts related to the LX570 belong in this forum

2015 lx570

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-19, 05:50 PM
majordog
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2015 lx570

SO I am a retired Toyota tech (10 years) and drive a 08 GX470 with 260,000 km on it.
I am looking at a 2014 LX570 with 120,000 km on it for 43K Canadian.
Can anyone tell me what problems to expect, I have heard nightmare stories on some newer Toyota products like headlight ballasts costing ridiculous money.
I just don't want expensive repairs on a fixed income, hence the reason I am looking at a Lexus in the first place.
Any insight would be appreciated.
Old 10-15-19, 11:54 PM
lexusrus
Pole Position

Received 250 Likes on 228 Posts

These don't break that often, but when they do......it's going to cost a pretty penny!

Our current 2013 LX570 (bought new) now with some 42K miles are "good" after a master tech at Lexus dealership found the parasitic electrical drain from the ECU of the center console cooler even after everything is turned off. And the Center diff lock light flashes if we don't use it in "a while"......the actuator get "stuck". All covered under the EXTENDED WARRANTY we bought when new......ONLY "COST" us $100 deductible AND TIME!! I guess could be worse in the several thousand dollars range!!!

Contrast to our old 2000 LX470 (bought new) we traded in back in 2013 with 280K+ miles were ESSENTIALLY problems free!!!

With all the electronics on the newer LX570, More things to go wrong!!!

Originally Posted by majordog
SO I am a retired Toyota tech (10 years) and drive a 08 GX470 with 260,000 km on it.
I am looking at a 2014 LX570 with 120,000 km on it for 43K Canadian.
Can anyone tell me what problems to expect, I have heard nightmare stories on some newer Toyota products like headlight ballasts costing ridiculous money.
I just don't want expensive repairs on a fixed income, hence the reason I am looking at a Lexus in the first place.