LX - 3rd Gen (2008-2021) Posts related to the LX570 belong in this forum

LX570 Long Distance Towing

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-18 | 02:51 PM
mmalik
Rookie

Default LX570 Long Distance Towing

Hello,
I just bought my first LX570. Its a 2013 White LX570 with all the options available in 2013. I have been an LS owner for a while and own a 2007 LS460 as well. As being a new SUV driver I need some help with an upcoming trip that I am planning.

I'm planning to drive from Northern Virginia to Orlando Florida (about 680 miles - Zip code 20166 to 32835) in First week of August. Now I've traveled that route on my LS many times and have no issues in terms of planning the trip. However, this trip will be a little different as I am planning to tow my 2012 Sonata with my LX570 (i'm taking my Sonata to give it to my sister).

Here are a couple of questions that I have for all the experts out there:

1. I checked the tow rating and I should be within the 7000lbs tow limit when I take the car carrier from UHaul. Anything I should be looking for? I already have the hitch installed from UHaul a few days ago when I towed my motorcycle to the dealership for service. It was the most heavy duty hitch that they could find for the LX.

2. I've never towed such a long distance before, anything I should keep in mind while I chart my course?

3. Has anyone tried long distance towing on the LX570? If yes, how was your experience? Any suggestion or advice?

Note: There will be 3 passengers in the LX, the luggage for 3 passenger for 5 days (4 standard hand carry suitcases) while towing the car carrier with Sonata on top!

Thank you for all your help!

Mo.

Old 07-23-18 | 03:57 PM
hankinid
Pole Position

Originally Posted by mmalik
Hello,
I just bought my first LX570. Its a 2013 White LX570 with all the options available in 2013. I have been an LS owner for a while and own a 2007 LS460 as well. As being a new SUV driver I need some help with an upcoming trip that I am planning.