Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Toyota Dealer service?

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-06, 06:48 AM
Oum'sIS
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Toyota Dealer service?

I just bought a new 2IS250 and at the dealership, I was told that I can take my car to a Toyota dealership to get the car's oil changed. Is this a good idea or a bad one? Also do I need to take the car to a dealer for an oil change? I'm new to Lexus and drove a MB c230 before and took that car to a MB dealership for oil changes also.
Old 05-25-06, 08:43 AM
Lexmex
Super Moderator

Received 161 Likes on 137 Posts

Depends.

It may be that some Toyota dealers will refuse and send you to the Lexus dealer (especially if the same group owns both).

You don't need a dealer to do an oil change and it can be a DIY mod, but an independent can do it much cheaper.
Old 05-25-06, 10:18 AM
bob2200
Driver

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by Lexmex
but an independent can do it much cheaper.
Do it yourself, or a Lexus or Toyota dealer, are prefered in my opinion. The el-cheapo places use the cheapest oil filters and probably not the best oil either. If you use a Lexus or Toyota dealer, at least you are getting a Lexus/Toyota oil filter and at least a reasonable quality of oil.

An alternative might be to buy the oil filter yourself and bring it to the independent. I know some independent auto repair places in So. Florida that charge $12, including oil and filter. You can't expect much for that price. From what I've read, I get the impression that these el-cheapo oil changes (including Jiffy-Lube) are the major cause of engine oil gelling.
Old 05-25-06, 10:58 AM
Lexmex
Super Moderator

I think the English side of my brain suffers since I speak and write 95% Spanish daily (and sometimes German when necessary with my European contacts), so hopefully no one takes me as literally in the future.