Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

straight answers about brakes - is350

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-08, 03:31 PM
taze
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation straight answers about brakes - is350

im not an auto mechanic and neither is anyone i know personally.

my '06 is350 has 37,000mi. i had the TSIB pad change at about 19,000.
my question now is: i want to have a brake service. Do I need:

1) just new pads.
2) new pads and rotor resurfacing.
3) new pads and new rotors.

And what’s a fair price for these services?

the braking feels good but there's new squeaking i feel indicates i need a change. ive gotten all the above answers from different people so what do you guys recommend?

thank you
Old 12-03-08, 05:15 PM
VVT-i
Lexus Champion

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

This is your second set of brake pads in 37K miles. I recommend to measure the rotor thickness and make sure it's not under the minimum spec.
Old 12-03-08, 06:49 PM
mitsuguy
Maintenance Moderator

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

Couple criteria you will need to know...

First off, measure the thickness of the rotor in thousandths of an inch or tenths of a millimeter... Compare to minimum thickness... if the rotor is thicker than the minimum and is not scored and has a nice even surface, you can get away with just replacing the pads. I recommend resurfacing the rotors, however, in which case, you will need at least .030" more than the minimum thickness so long as the rotors are not warped (do you feel brake pulsation?) If the rotors do not meet these specs, then you will need to replace the rotors as well...
Old 12-03-08, 06:50 PM
mitsuguy
Maintenance Moderator

fair prices, not sure on the parts, but front brake labor should run somewhere between $70 and $90 depending on where you live...
Old 12-04-08, 06:58 AM
taze
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by mitsuguy
Couple criteria you will need to know...