Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Oil Additives

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-03, 03:10 PM
TO_SC300
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Oil Additives

Most of us are familiar with the snake-oil style additives which were all the rage, most of which touted PTFE as a coating ingredient. But... the original slick 50 formula apparently worked. The guy who invented it apparently left the company when they started adding ptfe to the formula and is selling it under a new name: Xcel Plus (http://www.xcelplus.com/index.htm). Anyone have any experiences with it?
Old 02-19-03, 05:50 AM
Lexmexico
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have had some friends have good experiences with Auto-RX and Restore.
Old 02-19-03, 07:14 AM
TO_SC300
Driver School Candidate

Smile

Hmm, thanks for the tip. I just looked around and found this site:

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com

Interesting site with oil and additives analysis, they seem to like auto-rx.
Old 02-19-03, 09:44 AM
///MDex
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The dealer actually adds oil additives at some services.

www.bkprod.com
Old 02-19-03, 11:47 AM
Johnny Mo
GX and 2IS Moderator

Default Not so sure about the slick 50

Wasn't there a class action lawsuit in the back of car and driver a few years ago against slick 50. I thought I remember reading that the "molecular" bond of "slickness" if overheated would breakdown and "schmotz up" (industry term) the engine internals. Your best bet is to just be good about changing the oil or better yet use synthetic.
Old 02-19-03, 12:00 PM
Daddy-O
Lexus Champion

I used both of these products in a 6cyl 4.9L Ford truck with 140,000 miles. It had been parked for a couple years and when I got it (Free, if I hauled it away, it was firing on 5 cylinders most of the time and running quite ragged.