Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Help! Info on parking brake adjustment

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-03, 03:04 PM
silver01gs
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! Info on parking brake adjustment

Hello,

I am new to the CL scene. Anyone out there know how to adjust the parking/emergency brake on a 2001 GS430? Right now, when the car is put in "P" park, and the parking brake is engaged, it does not hold the car in position. So, it moves to the next transmission stops, making it hard to shift out of "P" park.

Thanks for your help.

Bruce
Old 08-20-03, 03:17 PM
VVT-i
Lexus Champion

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

You mean when you park the car uphill, correct?. The adjuster for the parking brake is inside the rear rotors. You have to remove the rear wheels and you will see the rubber plugs. Spin the rotors until the rubber plug is point toward the ground. Then, remove the rubber plug with flat head screw driver, use the flash light shine into the hole while slowly turn the rotor by hand until you see the adjusting wheel(look like star or gear). Then insert the screw driver inside the hole and turn the star/gear upward until you can't rotate the rotor by hand anymore. Next, adjust it down about 3-4 click and rotate the rotor and make sure the rotor spin freely. Don't adjust it too tight either, it will lock up the rear brake when the rotor get hot.
Easiest way, go to Lexus dealer when you're due for the service and ask them to adjust the e-brake.
Old 08-20-03, 03:44 PM
silver01gs
Rookie

Default e-brake adjustment

Thanks for the information. It happens when the car is on uneven ground (downhill or uphill).

Do I set the e-brake engaged or released when I do the e-brake adjustment???