Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

I just cannot decide what to do

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-04, 11:00 PM
ummagawd
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default I just cannot decide what to do

after doing endless research... i cannot decide which route to take with my sc300

1 - swap the 2jzgte
2 - turbo the NA
3 - 1jzgte

What's my goal? A reliable daily driven with working AC car that will run 11.5-12.5 in the quarter mile and will spool up near instantly. All while keeping in mind i'm a poor college student. Before anyone goes into "schooling" me about turbo cars.... yes i've owned a turbo car (a 350hp MR2 to be exact.... which is why my sc300 feels so dog-slow).

My current situation? I have about 118k on the clock and it eats a bit of oil. Almost a quart between oil changes. I'm using 10w40 oil which might be too thin... but I'm not sure. Therefore I'm not sure if my motor is healthy enough to be turbo'ed.

I would really like to just turbo my NA because I (hopefully) don't need an 800hp beast for a daily car. And i figure these are the costs i'd run into... hunting for used parts

1500 - t60-1 turbo, RPS manifold, DP and midpipe, tial WG
1000 - FMIC
800 - lexus V8 AFM, 550cc, SAFC, walbro 255l pump
300 - misc parts

thats 3600... okay... so some of you might think thats pretty good.... but thats for about 300rwhp because i'll be running on stock internals and HG... add another 1000 for HG, install and ARP studs.... and now we're getting close to 2jzgte swap territory.

We're also forgetting that my motor is eating oil... and could end up being a major problem.

What would you do to get 400-550 rwhp?
Old 07-21-04, 11:02 PM
ummagawd
Lexus Test Driver

BTW... how does 300rwhp feel on an SC300? thats about 7-8psi of boost on a good (fast-spooling) sized turbo
Old 07-21-04, 11:47 PM
ACleanSC4
Lead Lap

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts