Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Alternator, battery, or wire issue?

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-07, 07:10 PM
enycetony
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Alternator, battery, or wire issue? UPDATED!

Hey Guys,

I've been a lurker in this forum for about a month since I got my 92 sc300. I love the car tons and stuff but recently its been giving me problems. I should first come clean and say that I'm a newbie when it comes to car mechanics so don't expect me to know a whole lot.

Anyway, 2 weeks ago, my battery in my car died. (I'm pretty sure one of the doors wasn't closed tightly and my battery was drained from the light being on.) I went to autozone and picked up a new battery, installed it and the car was running fine again. I figured that the problem was the battery without second guessing. Yesterday, my car died on me again; I drove it around for a good hour, shut it off for 5-10 min, came back and then it wouldn't start. battery was again completely dead. horn wasn't working, lights weren't working, etc. One thing I did notice was, when i opened the door, i was able to use the automatic locks and seats. put the key in the ignition, turned it and the car looked for a second like it was gonna start then died. I got it jumped like 5 hours later, car has been running since. After the jump, I drove it around for an hour, then parked it for an hour and a half, and started it up again without a problem. I think it could be either the alternator, or the regulator, or maybe the wires, does anyone have any clue what could be going on here?

thanks, any help would be greatly appreciated

Last edited by enycetony; 12-13-07 at 03:46 PM.
Old 12-08-07, 07:22 PM
Lex-Fiend
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts