Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

unusual High rpm noise. Sc300 w a 1JZ swap

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-10, 01:17 PM
addisonblc
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default unusual High rpm noise. Sc300 w a 1JZ swap

Okay I bought the car about two weeks ago and everything in the car is perfect. Engine ran/runs like a champ and all electros work. About two days ago I decided to open it up on the highway when I noticed a studerat about 4500 rpm and up if I'm stepping on the gas. If I gradually press the gas up to full throttle I don't get as much engine banter. It feels like some sort of fuel lag and I'm just seeking advice from the know it alls because I'm new to the Lexus/Toyota world.

Specs on the car as far as I know for info purposes:
1JZ twin turbo swap
rebuilt engine
it's completely stock save for an intake Dyi.

If there's some other info that would help let me know. I'm going to get a sound clip to post up for reassurance.
Any help is welcome thanks
Old 02-15-10, 05:09 PM
chiken
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Does it sound like a howl? If so it sounds like your second turbo just gave in. If the first turbo pulls hard like usual then after transition it flattens out and you have the noise it's either a vacume for the secondary or the turbo itself. Pull the hotpipe off that back one and see if there is a bunch of oil in it.
Old 02-21-10, 10:31 AM
The_Marine
Driver School Candidate

I don't remember if I changed the fuel filter on it, so that's the first thing I would change. You can't go wrong doing that anyway. It does have the BFI intake mod and a gutted cat and free flowing exhaust. Maybe it's running lean under load? Have the fuel pressure checked under load. It's a completely stock 1JZGTE from a 1993 Toyota Soarer. Good luck, treat her right, & post up pictures of her when you put rims on it! I really miss the car, wish I could have kept it!