Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Best turbo route simplified

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-12, 02:23 AM
arosc3
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best turbo route simplified

Couldn't find any helpful threads on the best way to maximize horsepower gains for the SC so decided to make a thread to clarify the possible potential paths. Is a GTE swap a better option than going NA-T? What about aftermarket twin turbo vs stock GTE ? Where would I be able to find a brand new GTE engine and can I put aftermarket twin turbos on it or can I do it on the 2JZ-GE? What kind of price range should I be expecting from these methods? What are the yields ? Sorry for bein a total newbie but I just need some clarification. Thanks for reading and I look forward to reading your inputs.
Old 08-03-12, 02:48 AM
Davidddd
Pole Position

Depends what you mean by better? Reliability or power?
Old 08-03-12, 04:07 AM
LameSC300
Pole Position

I'm in the same boat Idk whether to go na-t or 1jz but honestly if you search harder I promise you can find so much info on this subject.
Old 08-03-12, 06:54 AM
lexforlife
Lexus Fanatic

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

seriously bro , this topic hs been beaten to death , reincarnated and beaten again and again and again .. all the info you could ever need is right there by a quick search ..their are pro's and con's to each approach , period
Old 08-03-12, 07:04 AM
99SC42
Lexus Test Driver

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Is+a+2JZ+GTE+sw...an+going+NA-T#
Old 08-03-12, 08:28 AM
wirelesstj
Lead Lap

^^^^^lol Ive never seen that before!!!! That's awesome
Old 08-03-12, 09:14 AM
iridebmx
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

na-t, because you already have the motor and you see no reason to get another, esp when it can handle more than enough for a DD setup and than some.