Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

oil pan drop with motor in place?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-03, 09:29 AM
Gixer 1000
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil pan drop with motor in place?

so this might be a newB question (as i am a newB) but can i drop my oil pan without pulling the motor out ? I have this thing all apart (down to just the block) and was wondering if i could replace the rings with the block in place. Thanks for any replys
Old 03-07-03, 09:54 AM
SC300T
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You can drop the pan if I remember correctly, but you have to pull some of the crossmembers off the suspension, which requires removing quite a bit of stuff.

Its much easier to just pull the engine to do stuff like rings. If I were you, even with it stripped down, I'd pull the engine, then re-assemble the engine on a stand, put the whole thing back in.

Assembling the top end, and parts, etc with the engine in the car is not easy at all, especially on the intake side.

For those doing a simple drill of the block for the oil return line:

Toyomoto suggested that you could get the pan off by using a pry bar on the rear crossmember, but I was never able to do it, and it put undue stress on the lower control arm bushings which were already in poor shape, so I really wouldn't recommend it.