Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Recently bought 1997 SC400 overheating

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-16, 01:27 PM
Fresco95
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recently bought 1997 SC400 overheating

Hello anyone please help

I recently bought my sc and on the 11th day of driving i ended up getting my car towed due to over heating.which now it will start but i hear a strange engine noise like thudding or cluttering.but i digress.

About the car from what ive noticed:
1.doesnt seem to be full power when i accelerated, maybe spark plugs or injectors i was thinking ( im no car expert )
2. Well thats about it as far as engine related specs..

This is very stupid of me but, to begin i was banging a chick while the car was running with ac blasting pretty high in the back seat. So i dont know how long it was hot for but anyways. Maybe 15 minutes or so go by and when we are done i smelled the overheat and gauge was in the red.

I let car cool down for about 30 minutes tried to start but ,couldn't get it firing. So i tried to push it into towing position, then i tried to start it one more time, and it cranked. So driving down the block praying ots not a head gasket or worse, car start overheating pretty quickly. Get a fewiles down and pull over and get it towed.

Now, car will start but engine keeps making noise and when i rev engine noise adapts to reving, sort a say..

So what do yall think?

If anyone is out there please hit me up mann i would really appreciate it!
Old 07-04-16, 02:02 PM
eknine9
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Record the noise and post a video of it so we can hear how it sounds. That will help us out in diagnosing what if any damage may have been caused by the engine overheating.
Old 07-04-16, 02:07 PM
Fresco95
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by eknine9