Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Replacing Struts/Shocks

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-16, 01:48 PM
tzxlyd
Rookie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Replacing Struts/Shocks

I am in the process of replacing all my struts but I have never done that before. I have started with the rear left (Driver) and I have already pulled the coil/strut from the vehicle. I have rebuilt the new strut but I am uncertain about that 17mm nut that holds the strut in the spring. First of all it took me a while to even get the new strut to fit into the hole on the hat where the 17mm bolt is located. I had to keep wiggling that thing for about 30 minutes before I could get it to slide freely in and out of the hole.

My question is specifically about that 17mm nut that helps to hold the strut in the coil -- how far down should it be able to be turned on that shaft before you place the strut back on the car? I was only able to get it about half of the way down on it while it is out of the car so is that about right or do I have a problem there? I want to know if I am doing this correct before I proceed with the remainder of the work I have to do. I am intending on replacing all brake pads, rotors and struts on the vehicle because I was hearing a grinding noise while driving and discovered that the noise is coming from the rear pads (what is left of them perhaps) grinding on the rotor.