Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

93 SC400 R155 swap?

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-17, 11:50 PM
HIxUZZ80
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 93 SC400 R155 swap?

Will a 2WD 2005-2015 Tacoma Trans (R155) work with the 1uzfeswapkit.com's Rxx short shaft bell housing adapter kit? I've been researching this for about 6 months and have no definitive answer. the main issue for me here is can I get the Tacoma Vehicle Speed Sensor to send the correct signal to the SC400 ECU/Speedo to keep from lighting the CEL. I know the SC400 ecu looks for a 0-5v square pulse signal from the VSS/ signal converter. The SC400 has 2, 2 Wire VSS and the Tacoma has a 3 Wire VSS. I believe the Tacoma sensor only difference is that it needs 12v or 5v switched power to the extra pin? If this cant be accomplished with resistors and some wiring I belive the Dakota Digital Converter can. Although that converter is pricey. I need the stock Lexus speedo to work to pass the Smog/inspection in Cali. The other thing is, will the Shifter location be at least close to the original location? I dont think so. I think it will need the R154 extended shifter Ive seen in supra's

Any helpful guidance or reference's will be much appreciated.
Pic for attention.

Ive read a good swap how to: https://www.clublexus.com/forums/per...-swap-pix.html
I've read a thread on the possibilities of the R155: https://www.clublexus.com/forums/per...to-r154-6.html
I've seen the Thread on the physical install of the plate: http://www.lextreme.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15217
I've read the CEL problems and fix's Thread: https://www.clublexus.com/forums/per...t-issue-2.html
The kit I'm refering to: http://1uzfeswapkit.com/product.sc?productId=40&categoryId=7