Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Exhaust Manifold & EGR Valve

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-18, 02:29 AM
reexist
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Exhaust Manifold & EGR Valve

Hello! I'm new to the car scene and I decided to get a 1995 SC300 to work on. It needed to have the exhaust manifold replaced and EGR System cleaned, I was wondering if someone could give me tips on how to do these? I have tools but not much experience working on cars. Would be very much appreciated please :-)
Old 01-03-18, 11:32 AM
KahnBB6

Received 1,237 Likes on 864 Posts

Hello reexist,

I have gone through this ordeal before with my Cali SC300. It is a process of elimination to successfully clean the EGR system. I don't remember the exact page I covered this on but I wrote about my saga with 2JZ-GE EGR cleaning extensively (with notes and pictures) here:

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/per...ly-solved.html

The most troublesome issue is not the cleaning of the EGR valve itself but the cleaning of the Y-shaped section of the intake manifold which has a cross-through internal EGR pipe at the last leg of the gas stream. This internal section can over a couple of decades become very clogged (your mileage may vary though) and it also needs to be cleaned out of carbon buildup. The trouble is that while there is a freeze plug to access the final route of this internal EGR pipe (inside the Y-manifold) Toyota does not list it as a replacement part, nor do they have a TSRM procedure for cleaning it.