Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Bought an SC and it needs help

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-19, 10:31 PM
JamesW922
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Bought an SC and it needs help

Hello everyone, I have just some basic questions that i need help/ advice on what to do. Yesterday I just purchased a 1993 Lexus SC400. It's the 1UZ( obviously, but not sure what gen as I am new to the platform). but i was driving it home from buying it from a private seller. it broke down on me and wouldn't start again. So I had it towed to a lexus dealership to diagnose the issue. They came back to me and told me that the Hydraulic fan pump is shot and it needs to be fixed/ replaced, they also told me that the engine for sure has an oil leak somewhere, I was aware of the Hydro fan leaking fluid but the owner told me it was slightly, and the oil leak was a small supprise but I can fix it. The dealership took the belt off and the service writer said he pulled it off with his hands. fast forward a few hours, I got it back to my house on a truck and started peeking at it trying to figure out what I should do. I saw that the Engine Fan fluid resevoir is bone dry. So from what I can see I THINK, that the engine fan fluid resevoir ran out of fluid, causing the pulley to stop moving and "lock up?"" causing the belt to rub against it and trash the belt. the car is slammed super low and i bottomed out. Now originally I thought I may have cracked the oil pan or the radiator, but the dealership told me both of those are fine. Any ideas on what else it could be? I am planning on ordering a new engine fan setup from ebay or something, and a new belt and potentially a new pulley if its needed. please if anyone has any advice or has dealt with this issue before. anything is helpful. Also is it possible to time the engine myself? or do i need to bring it to a shop? I've timed an engine before