Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Help with SC300 Replacement Exhaust System

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-20, 01:56 PM
loganscott
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help with SC300 Replacement Exhaust System

Good afternoon!

I recently purchased a 1994 SC300 5 Speed, and I'm looking at getting a new exhaust system. It was a midwest car, and the exhaust quite literally rusted in half just past (what I'm assuming is) the cat. Please see the photo below to see the portions of the exhaust that needs replaced.

I'm looking for a replacement system that is more performance oriented in sound, not something that is going to sound stock. Is there anything out there that I can buy that would essentially replace it all the way to the cat?

Im new to this car and this forum, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks so much.

Section of exhaust that was removed
Old 12-28-20, 08:57 AM
KahnBB6

Received 1,237 Likes on 864 Posts

Welcome to the SC300/400 forum and congratulations on your purchase and find of that 5-speed!!

I'd recommend doing an axle-back Manzo (aka M2) cat-back exhaust. Excellent sound with both NA and turbo setups in an SC300 (and SC400). Tanabe does or has made a nice Racing Medallion catback dual exhaust as well.

Most all of the bolt-in single exhaust systems that cross-reference to the Supra MKIV will also fit the SC300 with a pipe extension piece to account for the slightly longer wheelbase or a modification to the exhaust pipe but those are all intended for turbocharging applications where the turbo naturally changes and slightly muffles the exhaust note.

Alternatively, just take the car to an exhaust shop and have them remove the rear resonators and weld pipe into those areas. That immediately changes the sound of the factory dual exhaust system to a much nicer tone. It's very stealth and has been done to many SC300's and SC400's.