Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

New to SC. Curious about maintenance, vvti swapping, and speedo way off

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-22, 11:49 PM
keyaedisa
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New to SC. Curious about maintenance, vvti swapping, and speedo way off

As title states I'm new to this platform. Some background is I have an is300 that I've manual converted and done various things to for street and drift purposes. I recently purchased a 96 sc300 and it is a non vvti model. it misfires very bad. i suspect that that spark wires from the distributor are bad. they have white stuff on them and when i was messing with them the car improved in how it was running. i've not checked codes but if there are any other things this car has that causes misfires please let me know. im going to do a full maintenance routine on the car before it sees any modifications. i have a few questions in that regard. Note: I will be doing further research through these forums of my own on these issues independently but figured I'd give opening a new thread with all these problems together may be worth a shot.

can i use a water pump and timing belt kit from an is300 on this sc300?
as far as i can tell the gaskets are basically the same save for some cutouts in the is300 which im pretty sure all the times i replaced mine those dont go to nothing anyways. i havent been able to see if the housings are different but i imagine they are all the same.

why is my speedo way off and my rpms seemingly too?