Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

My 99 GS400 w/ 65k miles sounded like it was about to blow up today when starting up!

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-04, 07:34 PM
Threxx
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Exclamation My 99 GS400 w/ 65k miles sounded like it was about to blow up today when starting up!

My GS400 has always been babied as much as possible. I'm a very slow driver (relative to you guys at least), use strictly Mobil 1 oil, OEM filters, etc.

It had the full recomended service at 35,000 miles from our local dealership, and I've maintained it since then replacing the oil several times, trans fluid once, and air filter once.

Anyhow... I hadn't driven my car in 4 or so days straight due to all my family being in town for Thanksgiving and just riding along with everyone else.

Well when I went to start my car this morning it was pretty cold out (for TN). By far the coldest it has been this year so far. But certainly not even close to the coldest temps this car has seen while I've owned it. (I'd guess it was around 35-40 degrees out)

Anyhow... as soon as I started it it sounded sluggish to crank. Immediately I thought it might be the battery and let go. I tried again and again it sounded slow to start but this time it started.

But it sounded like a darn 1974 Cadillac that's about to die. Choked, sputtering, loud, and the RPM was not right either (don't recall if it was high or low as I was too taken aback by the situation). Immediately I freaked and shut it off and went to check my oil to make sure it wasn't all drained out or something crazy. Nope.. still there. Then I went to start it again and got out and noticed the garage was definitely filled with quite a bit more smoke and exhaust fumes than usual, and the engine was LOUD. It sounded similar to a diesal motor in a truck. Very 'rough', and with a loud ticking sound that almost sounded like a belt or something.