Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Has anyone made a true "CAI?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-05, 07:08 PM
Cannonbear
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Has anyone made a true "CAI?

i was looking at the intake today and was wondering if anyone's tried to make a true CAI pipe down in front of the wheel. It *might* work with the right filter, i'd need to take the bumper off again and look.

Anyone have any ideas?
Old 02-15-05, 07:36 PM
GammaLex
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

LMW has one. Its fairly cheap too. Around $225. They had a groupbuy on it. There also a forum sponser.
Old 02-16-05, 09:03 AM
JacobT
Lead Lap

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

I have the 1st gen SRT CAI. I've been using it for 4 years and only cleaned it once. The K&N filter was still so clean when I cleaned it.

https://www.clublexus.com/gallery/sh...cat/500/page/1
Old 02-16-05, 10:27 AM
PHML
Master Thread Closer!!

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

The only one I could think of was the LMW's one...but that entail you drilling a 3" - 4" hole on the engine body so the intake pipe can fit through and the cone filter actually is outside of the engine bay to get cool air.

Ask LXOGOOD (Ken) about it.

Pete
Old 02-19-05, 01:16 AM
Wald GS
O.C. Lucky Strike Fanatic

I don't have a 2nd gen, but we do share the same engine and configuration.

Here is a pic of my cold air intake setup added on to my Injen intake.

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=148832
Old 02-19-05, 09:06 PM
TTurboPimp
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I hope you dont drive in the rain with your filter sitting that low!!
Old 02-20-05, 12:03 PM
lex400pshR
Driver

Honestly man... Sometimes people need to think about this real hard....

Let me explain it........... How much can this CAI possibly give you over the stock SRT intake + ECU.. maybe 1-2 HP... not a big factor considering all the risks that are involved.