Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Magnaflow Exhaust for 1999 GS 400

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-05, 09:47 AM
Evoitis
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Magnaflow Exhaust for 1999 GS 400

Hi everyone, I'm a 45 year old noob to the Lexus world. I purchased a 1999 GS 400 with 9,300 original miles on it last weekend for my wife. This car is looks awesome for being 6 years old & we couldn't be happier with this purchase... anyway here's my question.

I have a few high performance vehicles that are turbo charged (930 Porsche & highly built Evo VIII). My wife wants her GS 400 to have a throaty rumble w/low cabin noise.

I've searched the forums and like what everyone has had to say about the Magnaflow exhaust. What I've noticed is everyone has installed these on SC300/400's.

Do I need to do a full cat-back system to achive my goals for the GS 400.... or would swaping out mufflers work as well. I'm not looking for H.P. gains (or to spend big $$$), just a nice exhaust note. I'd like to hear from other GS 400 owners who have modified their exhaust utilizing the Magnaflow or other exhaust systems. I live in South Orange County in California if you have any referrals for that area.

Thanks.... Tim
Old 05-17-05, 09:53 AM
svt5150
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Welcome aboard... That is quite a find. As far as the magnaflow goes, they dont make a cat back for out car. You have to get the mufflers of your choice and have them welded up. You can PM SoCalSC4, he has the Magnaflow on his GS4 and it looks great. Since you are both in SoCal I am sure that you could hear it too. There are lots of great choices for a throaty exhaust that bolts up easy for the GS.

How about some pics too?
Old 05-17-05, 09:53 AM
Lexis11
Lexus Champion

Hey man first off welcome to the site. It is a great resource for anyone.