Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Looking for more HP .. Turbo or SuperCharger

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-01, 09:17 AM
Spongy

Question

I am awaiting till I can get a 5-speed IS300 but I also want to get some more power to this already outstanding car. I don't want to go insane, with like 600rwhp but around 350rwhp would be good. Any ideas. Any companies that make a turbo around that hp or lower? Thanks again!
Old 06-22-01, 09:28 AM
Grey_is300
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Spongy,

Well with a turo and SC it all depends on the boot you give it I would guess a 8 psi system will put you close to where you want to be. Again I am not a expert on the matter but keep in mind with a turbo and a manual car you will loose boost everytime you step on the clutch. You will also have turbo lag. If you put enought power in to make up for the turbo lag your ok. with teh super charger you have the power in demand. There are alot of opinions on the matter. Take a look at WWW.swiftracing.com see what they have to offer.

Old 06-22-01, 10:29 AM
EmoDragRacer
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

spongy----- there are good and bad to both setups... Turbos have lag yes, but at times on the street that can be a good thing... you dont have to worry about the traction issues that us supercharger ppl have....also alot of ppl like the SC because of the low end it give out.. I like both setups and I dont really have a preference as long as the setuup can put out the numbers I want.....

XS-Engineering
toyomoto
are currently makin turbo kits

SwiftRacingTechnologies (SRT)
and Area-51
are currently making SuperCharger kits
Old 06-22-01, 11:20 AM
eortiz
Rookie

My 2 cents on turbo. If you size it right you should not get too much lag. I am also debating on turbo or SC but the bottom line on my part is $$$ Give Toysport a call if you live in the LA area or Swift Racing for SC
Old 06-22-01, 11:33 AM
Risk3233
Driver