Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Is LSD neede for a FI gs3?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-05, 01:34 PM
bluelex
Lexus Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Is LSD neede for a FI gs3?

I'm new to this part But does a GS3 thats FI'd need an LSD to have both rear wheels burn at the same time or grab at the same time? I was watching a video of some turbo and sc'd gs3 they all burned and spun one wheel instead of both like a 400 with the lsd. Will someone doing FI to a gs3 need to do this?
Old 08-11-05, 01:37 PM
DaveGS4
Forum Administrator

Received 2,273 Likes on 1,380 Posts

If you push enough HP, a LSD will definitely help you get traction and better launches.... (or burn both tires instead of one if that's what you want )
Old 08-11-05, 01:40 PM
mikal
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's good to have but you dont "need" it.

I wouldnt want to peel out on expensive tires anyways

and like dave said. Good to have if you have traction problem
Old 08-11-05, 01:42 PM
lexforlife
Lexus Fanatic

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

lsd works well with turbo applications esp while cornering and going into boost mode . it will help keep traction and keep things under control
Old 08-11-05, 02:26 PM
bluelex
Lexus Fanatic

Trust me Tires aren't looking to get burnt, I just meant for traction reasons. I know the 400 guys do this a lot and just wondored if the gear ratio is different on 300's to where we don't need it or it would help if we did it.?
Old 08-11-05, 02:27 PM
bluelex
Lexus Fanatic

Originally Posted by mikal
It's good to have but you dont "need" it.

I wouldnt want to peel out on expensive tires anyways

and like dave said. Good to have if you have traction problem
Do you feel that when you really step on it you have total control of the car? or does it spin out in the rear a little if you were to really slam it from a dead stop?

I want to hear what the gs3 fi guys are doing in this case?