Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Turboing a 02 GS300, Gurus please chime in.

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-06 | 02:48 PM
XBS1
Driver

Exclamation Turboing a 02 GS300, Gurus please chime in.

Well let me start off by saying that while I am new to the GS300 and the 2JZ-GE/GTE I am not new with forced induction so I have a good amount of understanding just need help with some specifics points.

The Goal : Need to get more power out of my GS300! Its too slow, especially with the wheels and audio. Dont think I need over 500WHP would like to get close.

Stipulations: I really dont want to replace the block with a GTE or do an engine swap, I know i have the VVT-i engine and the rods are thinner, I read a Supra GE block is stronger than mine, If I would find one at a reasonable price i would do it.

The Work: I would be doing all the labor and install myself with a friend. So labor wouldnt be a money issue.

The Car: 2002 GS 300 with VVT-i engine, 140k miles, Tranny seems to be slipping once in a while in the lower gears.

So I know im going to need to build the tranny for sure, which brings me to my frist question:

Where do I get the Tranny rebuilt? I am in socal. OR should i swap in a Auto off a supra?
Suggestions appreciated>

What Sinlge Turbo kits are there? Do I have to go with a custom kit, or are there singal kits out there availble for a good price?

EMS:I will be using the Greddy Emanange Ultimate. I am very familar with this unit so would be using it for tunning, Are there any conflicts with the EU and the stock ECU?

Headgaskets: So I will be using a 3MM HG and ARP studs, This should be enough for under 500whp correct?

Fuel System: Do i need to make a return fuel system kit for this car or does it already have one?
Will a single walbro upgrade be sufficient for sub 500whp?

Rear end: What LSD is the most cost effective.