Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Questions about installing rear Borla exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-06, 11:31 PM
box
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions about installing rear Borla exhaust

This is my first post, let me start off by saying hello. I recently bought a black cherry pearl 2002 GS300. I absolutely love the car. I cant be happier.

I am taking mods one step at a time starting with exhaust, headers, downpipe, and intake. I recently bought a 1 year old Borla rear exhaust system for $140. The pipes came with all the hardware and the Borla 1,000,000 mile warranty. They discontinued this specific exhaust system.

My question is: I am not too experienced with changing parts. I know how the engine and car operates, but I lack the experience. I am still learning everyday. I know these pipes are direct bolt on. Would this be easy enough for me to do? Or would it be recommended to get a professional to install the pipes? Also, is it street legal to run pipes without a muffler? They dont seem to have one.

Im going to be ordering OBX headers within the next month or so. Ive been reading about some issued with the OBX down pipe not fitting properly...so Im holding back for right now until I figure out all the specs.

Here are some photos of the pipes.

Help would be appreciated

Last edited by box; 12-01-06 at 12:02 AM.
Old 12-01-06, 01:53 PM
sbgs400
Pole Position

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

ah you got that off of ebay, right? i was looking at that auction but decided against it because of the lack of mufflers. those things will be easy enough to bolt on but if you have to do a visual inspection then you will probably have issues.
Old 12-01-06, 09:00 PM
box
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by sbgs400