Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Super Charged or Turbo Charged?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-07, 03:38 PM
Automan
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Super Charged or Turbo Charged?

Ok so I am a novice under the hood. What is the difference between Super Charged and Turbo Charged? Which one is better for the GS? How much HP can you expect with each setup? Positives and negatives for each setup? Is 300RWHP good for a GS300?
Old 01-08-07, 03:53 PM
GSoup
Lexus Fanatic

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

this should get you started...
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/question122.htm
http://www.proficientperformance.com...percharger.php
http://www.forcefedperformance.com/T...bochargers.asp
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supercharger
Old 01-08-07, 06:03 PM
Lexizm
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by Automan
Ok so I am a novice under the hood. What is the difference between Super Charged and Turbo Charged? Which one is better for the GS? How much HP can you expect with each setup? Positives and negatives for each setup? Is 300RWHP good for a GS300?
When I had my S/C GS300 I loved it and that was enough for me at that point. Watch the classifieds in the next few weeks.
Old 01-18-07, 11:12 PM
treimche
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would always recommend a turbo setup over a supercharger setup. My reasoning is, it is easier to make power with a proper turbo setup than it is with a supercharger setup. BUT it NEEDS to be set up properly, this is very important.
Old 01-25-07, 07:14 AM
boosted-gs
Pole Position

but doesn't a turbo require more maintaince? i always thought that it would be easier to do a supercharger setup rather than a turbo setup. yes the turbo will give me power but i believe the supercharger will be more reliable.
Old 01-25-07, 07:43 AM
KiPod
Lexus Test Driver

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts