Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Im New! with questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-07, 10:01 AM
98Quicksil
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Im New! with questions

Ok so allow me to introduce myself.

My name is Evan i live in Atlanta GA and i work for a large used car dealership chain, Where i am a detailer. Not a glorious job if you have ever ridden with someone who doesn't clean their car thats most of what i deal with.

Anyway my question is and forgive me I'm new to 2jz and Toyota engines for that matter. When doing a 2jz gte swap into a 98 gs300 such as i have.What is preventing you from getting the non vvt-i complete engine and mating it with the vvt-i head of the ge engine and stock gs300 5 spd tranny? So all you would be using on the swap is the bottom end of the engine and the turbos?

Evan
Old 08-02-07, 12:14 PM
Rock-a-Lex
Lead Lap

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

I'll let the more knowledgable members attack this one. lol. Welcome to CL btw!!!
Old 08-02-07, 12:52 PM
98Quicksil
Driver School Candidate

^^ Thanks for the welcome, Im just wondering the the easiest way to stay emissions legal and i really want to keep my 5spd auto.
Old 08-02-07, 10:08 PM
twojayzee
Lexus Champion

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by 98Quicksil
Ok so allow me to introduce myself.

My name is Evan i live in Atlanta GA and i work for a large used car dealership chain, Where i am a detailer. Not a glorious job if you have ever ridden with someone who doesn't clean their car thats most of what i deal with.

Anyway my question is and forgive me I'm new to 2jz and Toyota engines for that matter. When doing a 2jz gte swap into a 98 gs300 such as i have.What is preventing you from getting the non vvt-i complete engine and mating it with the vvt-i head of the ge engine and stock gs300 5 spd tranny? So all you would be using on the swap is the bottom end of the engine and the turbos?