Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

2jz swap into a is? need help

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-07, 09:22 PM
Lhausi
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2jz swap into a is? need help

i'm thinkin' about buying an is300, but if i get it, i wanna swap a tt supra motor in it. anyone ever do it, or hear about it?
I know it's been done, just can't find too much info on it, also wondering if it's really worth it,compared to just turbo'ing the is motor.
any help you guys give me would be helpful cuz i'm kinda new with is, but like the way they look, just think they need sum help with the power,lol
Old 10-09-07, 02:43 PM
MisterCam
Rookie

yeah, ive been thinking about it too. so far the info i got is, the motor mounts may not be exactly the same so you modification might need to be done to that and some other small things may need to be modded for clearance. Head over to isfanatics.com and go to 1st gen IS, then Forced induction under motor swaps, they're should be plenty of info there.
-Travis
Old 10-13-07, 01:11 PM
Lhausi
Driver School Candidate

idk wut to do, if i should swap it, or just see wut happens cuz i've seen a couple 4.5 hundred whp ge motors
Old 10-15-07, 02:05 PM
oddrob
Driver School Candidate

Depends an a bunch of different factors as well. Just swapping in the TT motor works fine, but is it cost effective for the power gain? And the more you know about the motors in question can lead you in the right direction as well. An IS300 with a blown motor is a great candidate for a swap, whereas a mint IS motor would be better off turbo'd. Also theres the chance of a bum GTE motor. Look to see whats around.
Old 10-17-07, 04:56 PM
wowais300
Driver School Candidate

just turbo urs mines turbo with a ballbaring t3/t4 3inch downpipe all the way back. and i made 311hp 309ftq tune on piggyback.
Old 10-17-07, 05:01 PM
passnu2
Lexus Fanatic

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts