Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

How to maintain a Turbo?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-02, 04:35 PM
cong28
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question How to maintain a Turbo?

Just to let you know off hand, I'm still very new to the Turbo world so this will be my first car w/ a turbo. I have never rode on a car that has a turbo before so I wouldn't know how it feels to ride one. These are just some of my questions that I have:

1) How to maintain a turbo so it can run properly? i.e. oil change, filter change, ect.
2) How hard can I drive my car on a daily bases?
3) How long do I have to wait until the turbo gets cool down?
4) If I drove 1 mile compared to 30 miles, is the cool down period the same when I stop the car? How about heavy driving for about 10-40 minutes?
5) Since I'm getting the Tranny Valve upgrade, how long is the break-in period?
6) Will I be able to drive 200+ miles without stoping?
7) Can I use the E-shift from 5th to 3rd or whichever gear I'm in?
8) Can a gauge be added?
9) What signs do I look out for if something is not right with the turbo?
10) What are some things that I shouldn't do?

This is just a few questions that I can't answer myself so hopefully you guys can answer it for me.

Thanks

Last edited by cong28; 08-08-02 at 04:37 PM.
Old 08-08-02, 05:24 PM
DaveGS4
Forum Administrator

Received 2,239 Likes on 1,358 Posts

Cong,

You might be better off posting this in the SRT Forum (or at least cross posting here to see if Mo or Marken will answer them here).

I've got the same questions as you - one of the reasons my name isn't on the list to get the TT (yet ) is that I want to hear more of the pros/cons from other folks who have done it first.

8) Can a gauge be added?
- I'd assumed at least a boost gauge comes with the kit. If not, you'll want one.

- Look for smoke or fire. Stop the car and RUN.