Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Performance advice for new IS owner

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-11, 08:45 PM
Jaymugg
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Performance advice for new IS owner

Hey, I'm a noob on this site... so go easy on me! LOL : Just bought my first Lexus a week ago and I'm eager to get some mods done on it. Got a 2012 IS350 with the F-Sport package. Was thinking of starting with the motor, throwing some headers, intake and exhaust on it. Problem is all I can fond online is the PPE headers but I still need it to pass smog. Any other companies out there making headers for the IS? I hear Megan Racing makes some for the 250 that they say will fit the 350 as well but that seems strange to me since the motors are two different sizes. Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated!
Old 10-27-11, 08:54 PM
Jeff Lange
Keeping it Real

Received 610 Likes on 405 Posts

The exhaust manifolds/headers will fit on an IS250 or 350 (they're the same from the factory on some years).

I won't comment about the benefits/downsides, I'm just making a comment about them fitting.

Jeff
Old 10-27-11, 08:55 PM
shadowman
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sorry to burst your bubble... there is not much "performance" mod you can do for an IS. We're limited to intake, header, mid-pipe, and exhaust.

As for header, both megan and ppe will not pass smog. Unless the manufacturer has CARB certification, you are SOL. That's one of the reason why I stuck with F-Sport Intake... they have CARB certification. That's pretty much the same hassle when you install mid-pipe since it deletes the secondary cats which becomes smog illegal.

If you really want header that bad, then install them. You can always swap them back to stock when it's smog time.
Old 10-27-11, 09:00 PM
Jaymugg
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by shadowman