Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Boosted GS Issues/Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-12, 02:03 PM
twoloose
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Boosted GS Issues/Questions

Hey guys so I'm new to the whole big turbo car thing, never had one before...I noticed earlier today when I got on the car one time the A/F droped to around 10-10.4 and the power just cut real quick, like a fuel cut or boost cut so I let off and got back on and it did it again. What could that be? I had been driving of for about 15 mins and temp was normal before I boosted it. Could it might have just needed to be warmer? Also what should me A/F be at? It bounced around all day today, idle was between 13-14, driving was around 11-14 and ocasionally up to 16-17 when I would let off or just a little gas...What do you think?

Temp doesn't seem to affect it. It was 55 out today and it still had the same issue after I had been driving it all day long. Later today I got on it again and it went through 1st - 2nd - 3rd on boost just fine and it broke up in 4th again. I don't know what the deal is...

Also it seems to have a rough idle sometimes, don't know if that normal or not. Idle make the car sound like it has cams but it doesn't, mabye a miss?

Car is a 1999 GS300 NA-t, 62mm turbo, 255 pump, 650cc injectors...

A couple vids
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vq2W...ature=youtu.be
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qRrsS...ature=youtu.be

Old 01-11-12, 03:04 PM
99 GS3
Lexus Champion

Received 32 Likes on 28 Posts

If your running real rich it will break up and stop the boosting short. I assume the wastegate is plumbed back into the exhaust since I can't really hear it. If you could hear it and it was breaking up rich the dump would sound like a pulsing/machine gun type sound instead of a smooth steady rush of air.