Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Intake Questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-12, 09:33 AM
LaVaism
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Intake Questions

Okay so just to start this off; I am a Network/Systems Engineer. Meaning I know computers very well. I know very little about cars except I like to drive them fast and I like the mean growl.

I know everyone here really likes the JoeZ intake; so I was thinking of getting that (and it comes in blue so it fits the theme). But it is also functional.

I noticed the car has a ram air type intake which I like because I would assume that it brings in more cold air (I know cold air = better)

So I was thinking doing the Joez Intake with F-Sport lower box and high flow filter.

I also want that mean growl when I hit the gas. So what makes that? I noticed people saying the Joez is pretty quiet, but the Takebe is really loud. What is the difference? I thought most of the performance came fromt he smooth pipe which made the air flow better.

Also if I went with another system does it still use the intake (I think you guys refer to it as a snorkle) or does it pull in more hot air from the engine bay? Also i want to key the bay covers installed so something that will still work with those as well. Loving popping the hood and it just looks so clean.

I plan on getting an exhaust in the near future too, I was thinking F-Sport as I really don't want the ricer cans on the back, I like that stock look with just a mean growl.

I am not looking for insane performance gains, I'll get those from the PPE Headers I am adding to my list.

I have been searching the forums and reading and reading so sorry if it's a Noob question but I figure some of you know a whole lot more than me so can't hurt to ask.
Old 09-20-12, 10:05 AM
bob4256
Lexus Champion

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts