Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

2jz-gte swap vs. turbo vs. nitrous ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-03, 03:54 PM
Mischievious GS
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Talking 2jz-gte swap vs. turbo vs. nitrous ?

Hello...

i have a 1st gen GS, which i've been thinking of ways to try and get more power out of it. First of all, i'm not a "racer" looking to make my gs into a 800hp animal. I bought this car last April, and still use it as a daily driver to get to and from work. Since April, i've mostly got it to how I want the car to basically look, but still lacking in the power dept. I'm no mechanical genius and admit a newbie to forced induction, which is why i'm here...to learn from u speed guru's .

I've done a few searches about what could be done to increase power, but just wanted some opinions. I've read a few posts about how ppl did a 2jz-gte swap from a TT Supra with a motor costing about $4500. I've heard its not a simple swap, and honestly, i'm not too sure too many ppl in Hawaii are able to do such a swap successfully. I also read there are issues with not being able to fit the twin turbo's because of the firewall. This option seems to be the hardest, but the upgradeablity with the 2jz-gte seems endless.

Then theres turbo. I've only come across one company that makes a turbo kit called F-Max , which comes with pretty much everything you need to install it. I found the kit retailing for about $4000-$4500. As for shops able to install turbo, there are a few reliable shops that could make this work. I've heard some mixed reviews about this kit as far as reliablity issues. Pricewise, the kit is the same as the 2jz-gte motor, but I take it much easier to install. i know you can also go the custom fabrication route, but i can't seem to find any info about this.