Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

IS200t tune

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-19, 02:54 AM
chezgk
Intermediate

Received 83 Likes on 61 Posts

Originally Posted by XxS13Lifex
Only thing I can imagine would cause this is heat soak since it is a metal charge pipe so close to the motor... have you tried heat insulation tape on it by chance?
Thank you for your input. No, I didn't have the chance to wrap everything in insulation tape. I don't think heat soak was the culprit, however, as the power drop was noticeable within 10 minutes of driving and was completely gone after OV revised my tune. Perhaps it was the larger pipe diameter decreasing air velocity for a given metered volume. I'm not an engineer and most likely wrong though

Two things I wish OV's tune eliminated:
  • Auto upshift in M mode (fully turning TCS off doesn't help in the NX, unlike some IS models)
  • Transmission learning. The transmission is responsive after a reset but gradually gets sloppier and sloppier.
The following users liked this post:
XxS13Lifex (07-18-19)
Old 07-18-19, 06:21 PM
XxS13Lifex
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by chezgk
Thank you for your input. No, I didn't have the chance to wrap everything in insulation tape. I don't think heat soak was the culprit, however, as the power drop was noticeable within 10 minutes of driving and was completely gone after OV revised my tune. Perhaps it was the larger pipe diameter decreasing air velocity for a given metered volume. I'm not an engineer and most likely wrong though

Two things I wish OV's tune eliminated:
  • Auto upshift in M mode (fully turning TCS off doesn't help in the NX, unlike some IS models)
  • Transmission learning. The transmission is responsive after a reset but gradually gets sloppier and sloppier.