Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

GS480 Stick Shift For Cheap Asses!

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-16, 09:16 AM
CRASHMONK
Pole Position

Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts
Default GS480 Stick Shift For Cheap Asses!

Greetings fellow Lexophiles, I'm a poor mechanic in WI that likes to repower Toyotas. I have two kids to cart around so old dreams of 2 door sports cars are long gone. Someday...

I'll keep this short:

01 gs300 with 190k miles and badly over heated 2jz $300
04 chevy 4.8 truck engine with 40k miles $550
08 chevy colorado ar5 trans $100
New light weight flywheel and clutch on ebay $310
GTO oil pan $110
New alternator $80
New starter $43
Adjustable ls engine mounts cuz im lazy $80
Alternator mount $45
Custom drive shaft $265
New stock radiator $55
New maf sensor $31
Oxygen sensor bungs $16
50 feet of titanium header wrap $22
HP Tuners: already had 2 credits in Stock luckily
I still need a lot of little stuff like exhaust, a radiator, and custom fittings. That's where it gets time and money consuming.

Hptuners will be my savior in this mess.

Always wanted something rwd.

Colorado 2.9 engine and the sbc bolt patterns are very different. Their dowel pin size and location however are the same

Last edited by CRASHMONK; 09-23-16 at 06:21 PM.
Old 08-27-16, 10:07 AM
CRASHMONK
Pole Position

The chevy 168 tooth flywheel was JUST a hair too big. I wanted to do this with a milling machine, but a grinder did just fine. Clearance is minimal but who cares?!

Clutch disc engagement looks good. Disc is right on the end of the splines but shouldn't be a problem

BTW the disc splines and input splines ARE the same. No custom clutch parts required

Things are tight in this bell but it does clear! I tested fitment with 03 corvette clutch and flywheel