Muffler Delete Questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-16, 04:38 PM
xxkn0xidex
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Muffler Delete Questions

first off im a proud new owner of a new RC 350

alright ladies and gents, ive been bumming around the forum for some info about a muffler delete on my RC. i love the sound and like the 4" tips look. so the questions i need answered are as follows...

1. has anyone had problems with the check engine light coming on afterwards?
2. how has gas mileage been affected?
3. are there any long term affects on the engine as far as valves burning up or engine running lean?
4. How do those of you who have done it like it? do you prefer the sound over stock?

BTW this is my first post and im completely new to the Lexus brand.
Thanks in advance
Old 05-12-16, 06:52 PM
Meraki Autoworks
Your #1 Lexus Vendor

Received 695 Likes on 611 Posts

Why not get an Ark Performance exhaust? Comes with 4" burnt tips or polished, gain whp, sounds good, and no check engine lights. :P

-Josh

Your #1 Dealer for Aftermarket Performance Products
Orange County, CA
Email: info@merakiautoworks.com
Text/Call: 213 394 2886
Old 05-12-16, 07:03 PM
xxkn0xidex
Driver School Candidate

in my opinion it just doesnt sound as good. but it does satisfy the good looking part.
Old 05-12-16, 09:27 PM
ZAM
Pole Position

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

I'm pretty sure that it is illegal to do a muffler delete on your car in Texas. This is the same for Oklahoma.
Old 05-13-16, 09:30 AM
xxkn0xidex
Driver School Candidate

yes ZAM. it is illegal to do it in texas.... but im not worried about that, what i am worried about is the muffler delete causing problems with the O2 sensors and causing the car to run lean. lots of backfire, valve issues, ect.
Old 05-13-16, 09:42 AM
litesoarer
Lexus Test Driver

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by ZAM