RC F (2015-present) Discussion topics related to the RC F model

An Introduction and a Few Questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-24, 08:17 PM
rider355
6th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default An Introduction and a Few Questions

Hello, I'm Henry. I'm a hardcore Sports Car driver. All my cars are and have been Manual Transmission (MT). Until recently, I never thought I would think about getting a comfortable, Automatic, old-age-friendly cruiser. Somehow, I woke up to the reality, at some point, either mine or wife's body or both could become unsuitable for low-slung sports cars. If or when that happens, we would only have hybrids and electrics around; I'm in mid-50s. I'm a gas-monkey! Yes, I care about the Planet; do my fair share. But, performance cars and sports cars make up a very small fraction of the automotive market. That's my rational anyway.

So, I'm planning to add a Grand Tourer (GT) to my mini for-ever collection. It should be reliable and old-age friendly. Reasonably fun to drive; but, not sports-car-fun. I’ve other cars for those use cases. Should have comfortable driving experience. Will be used for super-long road trips; think multi-month trips. Being automatic, wife can drive as well, so that she wouldn't be bored.

I’m seriously considering RC F. Seen and read a ton of reviews. Love the NA V8. It's long model-life and old-school design are huge plus, in terms of build quality and reliability. Oh, I love the fact it has CD Player! Yeah, I'm that guy…..!

Have a bunch of questions. To start of, a few:
- How bad is the transmission in Normal and Eco modes and below 4k? This is the #1 universal complaint. I read/heard it is jerky, choppy and downright awful. When not driving spiritedly in Sport+ with Manual mode, a poor transmission will ruin the sedate, calm driving experience.