RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Brake Pad Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-04 | 02:22 PM
Lee S.
Driver School Candidate

Default Brake Pad Replacement

Newbie here. Been lurking for a while but just decided to register. My wife drives a 2000 RX 300 (50K on the clock) which I will now be maintaining for her. I drive a 98 Ford Explorer and have been a member of the explorer site for some time now. I do all my own repair work on the explorer but I'm just beginning with the RX.

The inspection on the RX expires next week and my first order of business is to replace the brakes. My local mechanic (non-Lexus) says he has seen nothing but problems with aftermarket brake pads on the RX....he says the material if harder than the softer OEM brake pads and that brake squeal and rotor warping is common. Now, I have tried the search function and didn't come up with a lot of info on after market pads. Is the consensus here to stick with OEM or is there a recommended aftermarket pad that you all have had success with?

Also, what are there preferred online sites for ordering OEM or aftermarket parts?

Sorry for the newbie questions....I'm sure I get the flow as I use this site more. Thanks in advance for your help.

Lee
Old 12-14-04 | 06:01 PM
Woogie
Lexus Champion

Welcome to Club Lexus!

Yeah, You should stick with OEM brake pads and get some anti squeal. The softer pads are quieter, but they wear out a lot faster, however with harder pads, they are a lot louder.
Old 12-14-04 | 06:20 PM
Lee S.
Driver School Candidate

Thanks for the welcome. Can you recommend a good website for ordering OEM brake pads on line?

Lee
Old 12-16-04 | 10:19 PM
flipside909
Lexus Connoisseur

You can always get OEM brake pads from CL's premier vendor: www.l-tunedparts.com

If aftermarket pads suit you, Tire Rack has some available as well: www.tirerack.com
Old 12-17-04 | 05:34 AM
Lee S.
Driver School Candidate

Thanks for the links.