RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

DIY Transmission Service

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-06, 11:01 AM
duane
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Transmission pan drop and more

I’m a newbie here and have learned quite a bit, so I want to give back if I can.

My wife and I bought a used 1999 RX300 with 90,000 miles on the odometer. Part of the purchase agreement was that the timing belt was replaced prior to our taking the vehicle. The previous maintenance history is unknown, but the vehicle looked very clean and drove very well.

I was worried about the engine sludging issue, but was unaware of the potential tranny issues. There are no signs of any sludging issues with the engine, so that’s the good news. The following is a list of 90,000 mile maintenance and other things I wanted to get done.

•Replace PCV valve. Easy and straight forward
•Replace transfer case and rear differential gear oil with Mobil 1 75W-90. Old gear oil still looked good
•Replace spark plugs. Not the easiest of jobs.
•Replace cabin air filter. Easy and straight forward
•Purchase used master key with new uncut blade. Had it cut at local locksmith and programmed using instructions from this site. All works well.
•Engine air filter looked new, so no replacement at this point
•Brake fluid looks very clean so no replacement at this point
•Coolant looks very clean, no replacement at this point
•Power steering fluid looks very clean, no replacement at this point