RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Which motors can I use??

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-08, 12:32 PM
VTEK-THS
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which motors can I use??

so the deal is, my dad has a '99 RX300 AWD that he drives a LOT. he puts probably 50-60 thousand a year on it. he just had to rebuild the trans last year, cost him about 3400 dollars. He's now been fighting off some oil leaks, but he called me yesterday and said the motor threw a rod. Not good news...

I priced out a used motor at MY cost (i work as a GM Dealer Technician) and a 63k mile motor is 3850 dollars! Reman from Jasper is about 4700 dollars, and used from another place with a lifetime warranty it was going to cost about 5300 bucks! and thats discounted price on just the motor!

why is this engine SO expensive? it's the same engine as the camry and other toyotas, right?

so the situation is, he simply cant afford to buy a motor at a price like that - this truck has probably over 250k miles on it, but we need a motor. I found a motor on ebay with no warranty, dont know how many miles, truck was on fire, it states some parts of the motor were damaged. They want 500 plus shipping for it. i'm pretty tempted to get it and pull the heads off his motor, just use the short block from this fire damaged motor, and put it all back together. Its not what i want to do, at all, but the only other option would be to find a motor used in a toyota vehicle that we could get for a lot less money. can someone PLEASE give me some input on this kinda quickly before this ebay auction ends? which motors can be used from a toyota to match up in a 99 RX300. Can any 1MZ-FE bottom end be used interchangeably? i know it's got variable valve timing, which i think came out on the toyota models in 01? is that right?