RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Scrambled eggs every time

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-09, 08:29 AM
DrDan
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scrambled eggs every time

I am a driver who practices "the egg between your foot and the accelerator pedal" for economy. I've had my 2003 RX300 for a few years now (70K miles)and I frequently get an instantaneous surge no matter how gently I press the accelerator. It has always done this since I bought it used, new dealer certified whatever at 27K miles. My other car, a 2006 Toyota Camry (purchased new) has the same characteristic, only more pronounced. It seems that there is a specific pedal pressure resistance that must be overcome to accelerate. Once that pressure threshold is met, the pedal resistance "releases" and accelerates according to the extra pressure applied to overcome the resistance. No matter how slowly and evenly I press the accelerator I frequently get this unwanted neck jerking result. I have pretty much "tamed" the RX300. but every time I drive the Camry, my wife thinks I am a teenager trying to burn rubber. Is this a normal characteristic in the RX and the Camry? Has anyone else experienced this?
Old 02-11-09, 09:41 AM
lexus114
Lexus Champion

Received 35 Likes on 34 Posts

try lubing where your throttle springs are with silicone spray.It could also be your throttle plates sticking. Take off intake hoses,and clean in their real good.Their is a sticky on here on how to do that.
Old 02-11-09, 01:32 PM
habeeb89
Lexus Test Driver

I have noticed this on my RX as well, not so much on the GS.
Old 02-11-09, 01:34 PM
Lexmex
Super Moderator

Received 162 Likes on 138 Posts

You can increase the tension on the accelerator pedal by moving these two 10mm bolts to the left holding the accelerator cable.
Attached Thumbnails Scrambled eggs every time-accel_cord.jpg  
Old 02-12-09, 08:42 AM
DrDan
Rookie

Thanks for the response Lexmex