RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

getting a 99 rx300 with 183k

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-09, 11:51 PM
pnyboy27
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default getting a 99 rx300 with 183k

im new to the rx scene, but not so much with the toyota/lexus..i know toyota is well known to make some really strong engines and reliable cars period. so when looking for a nice winter car/daily driver..since i can't quite afford the awd gs..i think id opt for the rx.

so i found a pretty nice dark blue rx300 with gray interior and about 183k miles, for $7900 obo..is that a pretty good and reasonable price for the rx? i did a little researching on this car and read up on edmunds that they had some significant problems with the air/fuel ratio sensor, maf sensor, and problems with the engine oil gelling? this car is being sold by a dealership too..nothing big..just a small local dealership..so im not sure how well the cars been taken care of prior to being put on the lot. carfax showed 2 owners, one owning it for about 5-6yrs..the other 3-4yrs.

i also did a lil reading on here, and consumer ratings on edmunds saying that there are some whos satisfied and not major problems like such. also..when checking the car, i read that i should check the oil, and transmission fluid mainly, besides all the regulars like brakes, tires, etc. are there any other things i should watch for in particular? anything i could use to help knock the price down? or should i just keep searching for a lower mileage car? because i found another with 81k but at about 3k more. and thats black with tan interior.

any help would be appreciated! thanks in advance!
Old 05-07-09, 11:54 PM
pnyboy27
Lexus Champion

oh yea..and when/if i do get it..what are some major things i should do first to it? so far i got oil change for sure, trasmission fluid?, coolant?, gas treatment, wash/wax & vacuum! =P i love detailing my babies!
Old 05-08-09, 12:59 AM
code58