RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

RX300 v. Highlander

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-02, 01:32 PM
dpaul
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RX300 v. Highlander

I assume that the Highlander is built on the same platform as the RX300... I'm new to the Lexus/Toyota world, so if this is not correct---let me know!

If they share the same platform... what is the difference between the two????????
Old 03-31-02, 03:16 PM
Lvangundy

You are correct about them being similar..

Although, the RX300 is based on the camry platform (which gives it a smooth ride.)
Old 04-01-02, 09:15 AM
wwest
Lead Lap

Default Rx vs HL

My understanding is that the HL was built on a slightly larger wheelbase as the result of comments from RX owners. Supposedly the next RX will be built on the same platform as the HL.

The only reason I see today to but an RX over an HL would be the RX can be had with HID. Otherwise they both share the same major flaws if they want to be considered serious non-offroad SUVs.

If you want a minvan that doesn't quite look like a minvan then either of these will work equally well.
Old 04-01-02, 09:28 AM
Jeff92se
Driver

These two vehicles were never meant to be considered serious off-road. If they were, they would have been equipped w/ lockable frt/rear differentials and 4WD low gearing.

Actually IMHO, any "serous" off-road vehcile should be built on a frame instead of an unibody.

Last edited by Jeff92se; 04-01-02 at 10:39 AM.
Old 04-01-02, 10:59 AM
wwest
Lead Lap

Default It says...

"serious NON-offroad use...."
Old 04-01-02, 11:06 AM
Jeff92se
Driver

Default Re: It says...

Oops. Ah what is "serious" non-offroad use?? Like serious on-road use? That sounds like a dedicated sports car such as a BMW M3/M5 or something.

Originally posted by wwest
"serious NON-offroad use...."
Old 04-01-02, 11:47 AM
blackjack
Driver School Candidate