RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

need of advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-11, 10:40 AM
brabbit
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need of advice

So I had my 1999 RX300 awd in the at the Toyota dealership for a check engine light... 3 codes popped up P0171 system too lean, P1133 Air fuel ratio sensor circuit response malfunction, and the P1155 air fuel ration sensor heater circuit malfunction. both codes deemed bank 1 sensor 1.

Upon inspection it was found that I have an exhaust leak in front of the rear o2 sensor, they quoted me at 1845.00 parts and labor telling me that the part where the leak is has a platnium area in it or something???!!!! and that part of the xhaust costs like 1400??

I'm a student so I don't have a lot of cash flow coming in until the summer... as far as performance i've noticed a little jerkiness after letting off the gas and also my display is reading like 9-12 miles on the highway going 60 when I used to get like 22-24.... PLease help thanks...
the claim is that in order to determine if the sensors are bad the xhaust leak must be repaired. Does anyone have a suggestions on what to do I mean do i go online and look for a new performance exhaust system or ??? what would you do... I wouldn't mind getting a little better performance seeing that I have to fix the leak, I thought I might get a performance exhaust also if anyone could quote me what I should be expecting to pay for something like this.

Last edited by brabbit; 03-16-11 at 04:29 PM. Reason: new questions
Old 03-16-11, 11:12 AM
lexus114
Lexus Champion

Received 35 Likes on 34 Posts

Originally Posted by brabbit
So I had my 1999 RX300 awd in the at the Toyota dealership for a check engine light... 3 codes popped up P0171 system too lean, P1133 Air fuel ratio sensor circuit response malfunction, and the P1155 air fuel ration sensor heater circuit malfunction. both codes deemed bank 1 sensor 1.