RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

My RX Startin' to Fall Apart!

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-02 | 04:03 AM
RX300wannabeIS300
Driver School Candidate

Default Ok, here it goes....... MY RX STARTIN' TO FALL APART!

Sooooooooo...... we have kind of a problem here...... yeaaaaaaah... ("Office Space"... nevermind)

So, about 8 month ago at 60K some hissing noise starts. Mechanic at a local shop noticed it while changing oil. Take it to the dealer. "Uh, you've got a cracked exhaust pipe!", "Great... fix it!". Fixed it. Under warranty, no questions asked.

Last week this sucka starts to growl like a big V8 on moderate acceleration... Take it to the dealer today. "Uh, you've got, er, well, ... a cracked manifold. It's not coverefed under warranty. It's $450 and I don't have the part". WHAT?!?!?! Yeah-NO!... The truck just hit 70K this week... Now, I'm no mechanic, but I figure I'll ask if it's covered under the drivetrain warranty. He said not sure. It's over 70K. So I get a little upset - it's like 70,120 I say. He said he'll see what he can do... Comes back with a complete attitude change, and said he'll cover it under warranty, no problem. "I want a 100% on the customer satisfaction survey!" he says. Kind of funny if you ask me.

Now, something else... apparently Lexus of Sacto is changing their loaner cars to Enterprise?????? I got to drive a freaking Suburban home... How lame.

Anyway, has anyone had experience issue with your RX warranty services? How'd you handle it?
Old 10-25-02 | 11:17 AM
ATLRX3
Driver School Candidate

Unhappy

Hi All,